Time limit on composing posts?

For you to give feedback to the Heartland moderators. Wish lists, fault reports, etc. You may get an answer, you may not. As in all things, it largely depends on how nicely you ask the people in charge... You're welcome.
Post Reply
User avatar
Johnny Rev 7.0
Banned
Posts: 1137
Joined: 09 Sep 2006, 22:15
Location: A place I go where no one knows

I only ask, as this is the second time it has happened to me.

Both occasions in relation to the WC Fantasy Football thread where I want to provide links and ensure any stats I'm quoting are correct. It does take time.

Thoughts?

PS: Telling me I'm an elephant-thumbed, doddery, old geezer in a sweat-stained vest and urine-stained shorts is not an answer. I know that already.
What a season
to be beautiful
without a reason
User avatar
markfiend
goriller of form 3b
Posts: 20401
Joined: 11 Nov 2003, 10:55
Location: st custards
Contact:

I've certainly never come across this.

Do you have HL set to keep you logged in? It could be a cookies issue.

Sorry not to have noticed this post earlier. :oops:
advanced, forthright, signifficant
User avatar
Dan
Slight Overbomber
Posts: 1856
Joined: 25 Sep 2002, 01:00
Location: Leeds

I've seen this issue on other forums.
It's to do with some isp's using transparent/proxy webcaches which change at random times out of the users control.
I remember AOL being named as one isp that has the problem.
User avatar
Being645
Above the Chemist
Posts: 12710
Joined: 09 Apr 2009, 12:54
Location: reconstruction status: 76,8%

Oh, it happens to me regularly ... :urff: :urff: :urff: ....

So I've made myself used to mark and copy everything before pressing "Preview" or "Submit"

after checking for links elsewhere, or even when it's taken me a bit long to formulate posts,

... just in order not to lose all I've written before ... :evil: :urff: ... for even if you page backwards in browser chronology,

the whole post is lost once you're asked to log in ...
User avatar
markfiend
goriller of form 3b
Posts: 20401
Joined: 11 Nov 2003, 10:55
Location: st custards
Contact:

I think Dan has probably hit on the reason.

One workaround is to compose your posts in a text editor (remember kids, real programmers use emacs) and copy-pasting into the compose window when done.
advanced, forthright, signifficant
User avatar
Dan
Slight Overbomber
Posts: 1856
Joined: 25 Sep 2002, 01:00
Location: Leeds

From a bulletin board, late 70's/early 80's...

Code: Select all

                    What emacs REALLY stands for
                    ---------------------------

Even a             Eradication of      Emetic             EeenieMeenieMineyMo
Master of          Memory              Macros             Macros
Arts               Accomplished with   Assault            Are
Comes              Complete            Core and           Completely
Simpler            Simplicity          Segmentation       Slow

Emacs              Emacs               Easily             Emacs
Manuals            Manuals             Mangles,           Makefiles
Are                Always              Aborts,            Annihilate
Cryptic and        Cause               Crashes and        C-
Surreal            Senility            Stupefies          Shells

Emacs              Elsewhere           Erasing            Generally
Means              Maybe               Minds              Not
A                  All                 Allows             Used
Crappy             Commands are        Complete           Except by
Screen             Simple              Submission         Middle
                                                          Aged
Eventually         Emacs               Emacs              Computer
Munches            May                 Makers             Scientists
All                Allow               Are
Computer           Customised          Crazy
Storage            Screwups            Sickos
Post Reply