Technical questions regarding drum machines

THE place for your Sisters-related comments, questions and snippets of Sisters information. For those who do not know, The Sisters of Mercy are a rock'n'roll band. And a pop band. And an industrial groove machine. Or so they say. They make records. Lots of records, apparently. But not in your galaxy. They play concerts. Lots of concerts, actually. But you still cannot see them. So what's it all about, Alfie? This is one of the few tightly-moderated forums on Heartland, so please keep on-topic. All off-topic posts will either be moved or deleted. Chairman Bux is the editor and the editor's decision is final. Danke.
Fredrichl
Road Kill

Hi!
I am somewhat new here. Been listening to the band since -92 or thereabouts.

I am also a hobby musician. And i've been trying to replicate the drum machine sound on some of my favorite songs: Floor show, adrenochrome and body electric as heard on the "Some girls" compilation.

I tried with a boss dr55, but I find that it might possibly not be it. It's to varied and "modern" to be the dr55 i do think? Is it one of the Rolands? (Tr606,tr808 or tr909)?
Being645
Above the Chemist

Hi and welcome to HL ... :D ...

https://sisterswiki.org/Doktor_Avalanche ... :wink: ...
Husek
Utterly Bastard Groovy Amphetamine Filth

Hello and welcome to HL.

So, The thing about the 'some girls wander by mistake' compilation is that it has a bunch of incarnations of the dok side-by-side.

The DR55 is not the main drum machine of any of the songs you mentioned, in fact, I believe we don't have anything recorded with it (maybe the Damage done?).
Anyhoo, the Drum Machine you are looking for is the Oberheim DMX and the TR808.

Bear in mind that neither of those drum machines will sound like the sisters from the getgo, Von, to this day, is big on customizing his samples/sounds.